IND vs SL: Ruturaj Gaikwad gets ruled out of T20Is, Mayank Agarwal added in squad

Indian batter Ruturaj Gaikwad has been ruled out of the remaining T20I matches against the Sri Lankan side. And, right-hander Mayank Agarwal will replace Gaikwad in the Indian squad for the final 2 T20I matches against Sri Lanka. A spokesperson from the Indian cricket team said that Gaikwad has some pain in his wrist, and this has been affecting the way he is batting. The spokesperson also added that the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Medical staff will examine the batter as well.

“Ruturaj Gaikwad complained of pain in his right wrist, which is affecting his batting. He was unavailable for selection for the first T20I. The BCCI Medical Team is examining him,” said the spokesperson as quoted by Cricbuzz.

It was not difficult to send in Mayank Agarwal: BCCI source

A source in the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) also added that it was easy to send in Agarwal as a replacement for Gaikwad as the batter was in Chandigarh and was rushed to Dharamsala.

“It was not difficult to send Agarwal in because it could easily be a bubble-to-bubble transfer. He was in Chandigarh and he was immediately rushed,” stated a source in the BCCI.

India are currently leading the three-match T20I series 1-0. In the 1st T20I, Rohit Sharma and his men produced a stellar show and thrashed the Sri Lankan side by a margin of 62 runs in the opening rubber in Lucknow. Left-handed batter Ishan Kishan won the Player of the Match award for his rollicking 89 with the willow in hand.

Here is the updated Indian T20I squad for the series against Sri Lanka

Rohit Sharma (C), Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Ishan Kishan (WK), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Avesh Khan, Mayank Agarwal



@sachin_rt smashes his 18th ODI century.

Can you guess the opponent?
100MasterBlastr photo

A fabulous end to a fabulous series!

India win the series by 2-1 🔥

100MasterBlastr photo

Suryakumar Yadav 🔥

Brings up his fifty with a six!

100MasterBlastr photo