Afghanistan announces squad for Sri Lanka ODIs

Afghanistan have unveiled their formidable squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka, set to kick off on February 9 at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.

The picked squad presents a mix of seasoned players and rising stars, creating an exciting blend of talent. Led by the experienced Hashmatullah Shahidi and the reliable Rahmat Shah in the vice-captain role, the team showcases a well-thought-out combination.

Wicketkeeping duties will be shared between Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Ikram Alikhil, both known for their agility behind the stumps. The batting lineup is bolstered by the likes of Ibrahim Zadran, providing stability, while Riaz Hassan and Azmatullah Omarzai bring their flair to the mix.

The middle-order is fortified with the presence of the ever-reliable Mohammad Nabi and the dynamic Gulbadin Naib, adding a perfect balance of experience and energy. The spin department features the absence of Rashid Khan, making way for Qais Ahmad to showcase his wrist-spinning prowess alongside the young and talented Noor Ahmad and the seasoned Mujeeb Ur Rahman.

In the fast-bowling department, the trio of Fazalhaq Farooqi, Naveed Zadran, and Farid Ahmad Malik promise to bring the heat to the Sri Lankan pitches. This combination of youth and experience ensures that Afghanistan’s bowling attack remains a force to be reckoned with.

In a setback for the team, Mohammad Saleem Safi will be sidelined due to a hamstring injury, ruling him out from the ODIs and preventing further participation in the ongoing Test match where he recently made his red-ball cricket debut. Naveed Zadran, who marked his Test debut in the ongoing game against Sri Lanka, has earned a spot in the ODI squad, showcasing the selectors’ confidence in his abilities.

Afghanistan ODI squad:

Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Rahmat Shah (vc), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Ikram Alikhil (WK), Ibrahim Zadran, Riaz Hassan, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Qais Ahmad, Noor Ahmad, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Naveed Zadran and Farid Ahmad Malik.


Sharafuddin Ashraf, Shahidullah Kamal, Abdul Rahman Rahmani and Bilal Sami.