Qualifier 1 Review – Chennai head into their tenth IPL final

Chennai Super Kings defeated Gujarat Titans by 15 runs at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Tuesday, May 23 to make it to their 10th final in IPL history. Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway’s knocks propelled Chennai to 172. However, in the chase, apart from Gill’s knock, the rest of the Gujarat batters failed to amount to much.

Coming in to bat first after losing the toss, Chennai Super Kings got off to a slow and steady start. Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway scored 60 and 40, respectively. Furthermore, Shivam Dube, Ambati Rayudu and Ravindra Jadeja made short cameos, scoring 17, 17, and 22 runs, respectively. Mohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami took two wickets each for Gujarat in the first innings. While Darshan Nalkande, Rashid Khan and Noor Ahmad took one each.

Coming in to chase the target down, Gujarat Titans crumbled under pressure. Opener Wriddhiman Saha was sent packing for 12 runs in 14 deliveries. Shubman Gill was the highest run-getter for Gujarat during the run chase but he could not get moving much. However, the rest of the batting failed to capitalise as Gujarat succumbed to a defeat. Ravindra Jadeja, Maheesh Theekshana and Deepak Chahar took two wickets each, with Tushar Deshpande and Matheesha Pathirana striking once.

Best performers from the match

Ruturaj Gaikwad: Indian batter Ruturaj Gaikwad was sensational for Chennai Super Kings in the first innings. Opening the innings for the four-time champions, Gaikwad amassed 60 runs in 44 deliveries and his knock was crucial for Chennai in posting 172 runs on the board.

Shubman Gill: Man-in-form Shubman Gill was the highest run-getter for Gujarat Titans during the run chase. The 23-year-old scored 42 runs in 38 deliveries, however, his knock went in vain.

What’s next for both teams?

Chennai Super Kings go into the IPL 2023 final, whereas Gujarat Titans next take on the winner of the Eliminator between Mumbai Indians and Lucknow Super Giants