Ajinkya Rahane to lead Mumbai in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021-22

Ajinkya Rahane

Indian Test vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane is set to lead Mumbai in the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (SMAT 2021-22), with Prithvi Shaw named his deputy. The tournament is set to run between November 4 to 22.

The Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) selection committee, headed by former India pacer Salil Ankola, and also includes Gulam Parkar, Sunil More, Prasad Desai and Anand Yalvigi, announced the 20-member squad on October 18. 

The squad includes Shivam Dube, Yashasvi Jaiswal and Sarfaraz Khan, who were all recently playing the Indian Premier League 2021. Further, experienced wicketkeeper Aditya Tare has also been included. The pace attack includes senior fast bowler Dhawal Kulkarni alongside Tushar Deshpande, Mohit Awasthi and Royston Dias.  

Viren Rasquinha, former hockey captain and Olympia, had a session with the Mumbai team on Monday where he spoke about the success stories of India’s celebrated Olympians.

“Was great chatting with the Mumbai Ranji team as they embark on a new season. Thanks to my friends Nilesh Kulkarni, Amol Muzumdar, Mumbai Cricket Association for inviting me over to speak to the team & for presenting me with an autographed team jersey,” Rasquinha, the CEO of Olympic Gold Quest (OGQ), tweeted.

“Viren they were goosebump moments to listen to the stories you shared about our Olympians. Athletes and mentors like you have made our country proud. May you hit upon a Mine in your quest for the Gold. Good wishes (sic),” Mumbai Head Coach Amol Muzumdar wrote on Twitter while thanking Rasaquinha.

Muzumdar beat the likes of former India all-rounder and veteran coach Balwinder Singh Sandhu, Wasim Jaffer, Sairaj Bahutule, former Mumbai coach Sulakshan Kulkarni, Pradeep Sunderram, Nandan Phadnis, Umesh Patwal and Vinod Raghvan in the race to be named as the Mumbai head coach earlier this year.

Mumbai Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021-22 Squad

Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), Prithvi Shaw (Vice Captain), Aditya Tare, Shivam Dube, Tushar Deshpande, Sarfaraz Khan, Prashant Solanki, Shams Mulani, Atharva Ankolekar, Dhaval Kulkarni, Hardik Tamore, Mohit Awasthi, Siddhesh Lad, Sairaj Patil, Aman Khan, Arman Jaffer, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tanush Kotian, Deepak Shetty and Roystan Dias