CSK vs KKR: Preview – IPL 2021 finalists kick off the new season

The opening match of the 2022 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will be played between the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). Both these sides will have new captains at the helm of affairs in the 15th edition of the Indian T20 League.

CSK legend MS Dhoni announced that he will be stepping down as the captain, and the mantle of leading the side will fall on the shoulders of Ravindra Jadeja. The Kolkata side too will have a new skipper in Shreyas Iyer. Iyer was bought by the two-time IPL champions in the auction this year for a sum of INR 12.25 Crores.

CSK will enter the tournament as the defending champions, and they defeated the KKR outfit in the summit clash of the 2021 IPL season by 27 runs. So, the Indian T20 extravaganza is here to enthral the fans of the game as the IPL turns 15.

Match Info

Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders, Match 1

Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Start Date and Time: 26th March 2022 at 07:30 PM IST


Playing Combinations

Chennai Super Kings

Ruturaj Gaikwad and Kiwi Devon Conway will open the batting for the CSK side. Veterans Uthappa and Rayudu will occupy the No.3 and No.4 slots, while skipper Ravindra Jadeja will come in at No.5. Hard-hitting all-rounder Shivam Dube is likely to come in at No.6, while the great MS Dhoni will don the wicket keeping gloves. Bravo, Jordan, rookie Rajvardhan Hangargekar and pacer Adam Milne will complete the lineup.

Kolkata Knight Riders

Trailblazing opener Venkatesh Iyer will walk out to open with Ajinkya Rahane. Skipper Shreyas Iyer will occupy the No.3 slot, while Nitish Rana and Sam Billings will complete the middle order. The two all-rounders who will take the field for the match are Andre Russell and Sunil Narine. The three specialist pacers who are likely to feature in the playing XI are Tim Southee, Shivam Mavi and Umesh Yadav, while the lone specialist spinner will be Varun Chakravarthy.

Probable XI