IND vs NZ: 1st T20I Preview – India in search of another series win

After a successful ODI series victory, the Men in Blue are all set to host New Zealand for a three-match T20I series starting January 27 at the JSCA International Stadium Complex in Ranchi. The visitors faced a humiliating 0-3 defeat in the ODI series and will be aiming to make amends in the shorter format games. On the other hand, the Men in Blue will be looking to continue their dominance.

The last time the two sides squared off in a T20I match was in November 2022 when the Indian side toured New Zealand. The first game of the series was abandoned without a ball being bowled due to rain in Wellington. In the second game, Suryakumar Yadav’s magnificent century followed by Deepak Hooda’s four-wicket haul helped India clinch a 65-run victory. The third game of the series tied as India levelled the DLS par score before rain played a spoilsport. Hence, India won the series 1-0.

All eyes on Suryakumar

As the upcoming games are scheduled in India, the weather won’t play a part in the games, and a complete three-match series will be witnessed. As for India, Shubman Gill and Suryakumar Yadav are in good form, while Umran Malik and Shivam Mavi too will be the ones to watch out for with the ball.

As for New Zealand, Devon Conway is backed with a century from the recently concluded third ODI, and would be hoping to continue the same form in the T20I series as well. Finn Allen’s form has been worrisome as he has not managed to put up a remarkable show of late. Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell and Michael Bracewell have been doing good in the format.

Pitch and conditions

Venue details: JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi

Last T20I match at the venue: NZ: 153/6 in 20 overs | IND: 155/3 in 17.2 overs.

Usually, the spinners find help at Ranchi’s JSCA International Stadium Complex and hence a middling total is expected by the team batting first.

Here’s the probable playing XI for India vs New Zealand clash:


Unlike the ODI series, the Indian T20I side will be led by Hardik Pandya. Under his captaincy, India have not lost a T20I series so far. Leading a comparatively younger squad, Pandya will be hoping to continue his win record as a skipper while the players would be hoping to put their best foot forward.

New Zealands

New Zealand too will not have the services of senior players Kane Williamson, Tim Southee, and Tom Latham among others. Mitchell Santner will be leading the squad and would be hoping for success in his stint as the captain.