IPL 2022: MI vs DC Preview – Delhi’s playoffs hopes in their own hands

The Mumbai Indians will be locking horns with the Delhi Capitals in Match 69 of IPL 2022 at the Wankhede Stadium on May 21. While this might be the final league game for both sides, a lot of hopes are pinned on this contest with a playoff berth on the line.

A win for Mumbai will see the Royal Challengers Bangalore through to the playoffs and should Delhi come out on top, it would be curtains down for the Faf du Plessis-led side. Both DC and RCB will be tied on 16 points, but the Capitals will qualify for the last four as they have a far superior net run rate. Meanwhile, the Delhi Capitals would also be hoping to do the double over the Mumbai Indians, having got the better of them by four wickets in the reverse fixture.

Delhi have found themselves in a precarious situation after a mammoth 91-run loss against the Chennai Super Kings but since then, they have ensured that they did not receive any further setbacks.

Mumbai, on the other hand, might have gone down to an inconsistent Sunrisers Hyderabad by three runs in their last game, but the ended CSK’s title defence by winning a low-scoring thriller. The Capitals, therefore, must not underestimate Rohit Sharma & Co.

Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals Predicted Playing XI

Mumbai Indians

Caribbean all-rounder Kieron Pollard would once against be warming the bench and Ramandeep Singh, who has been consistent in the last couple of games, is expected to be given another chance.

Ishan Kishan (wk), Rohit Sharma (c), Daniel Sams, Tilak Varma, Ramandeep Singh, Tristan Stubbs, Tim David, Sanjay Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Riley Meridith, Mayank Markande

Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals will be fielding the winning combination as they need just one more victory to confirm their playoff berth. It is highly unlikely that the team management will be giving a chance to youngster Prithvi Shaw as of now. Sarfaraz Khan is expected to open the innings along with David Warner.

David Warner, Sarfaraz Khan, Mitchell Marsh, Rishabh Pant (c & wk), Lalit Yadav, Rovman Powell, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Anrich Nortje, Khaleel Ahmed