IPL 2022: RR vs MI Preview – Rajasthan hope to mark the special occasion with a win

The Rajasthan Royals will be locking horns with the Mumbai Indians in Match 44 of IPL 2022 at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai on April 30. Both teams will be heading into this contest on the back of contrasting results. While Rajasthan got the better of Royal Challengers Bangalore by 29 runs in their last fixture, Mumbai suffered a 36-run defeat at the hands of Lucknow Super Giants. RR would be hoping to do the double over MI having registered a 23-run win in the reverse fixture.

RR have been one of the most consistent sides in the tournament as their batters and bowlers have been making a tremendous impact. The in-form Jos Buttler might have failed in the last game but youngster Riyan Parag rose to the occasion and scored 56 runs from 31 deliveries that powered the Royals to a match-winning score of 144/8. He was adjudged the Player of the Match for his quickfire knock. The bowlers showed great commitment in defending a modest total riding on Kuldeep Sen’s 4/20.

On the other hand, nothing has gone right for MI as despite trying out various combinations, they have failed to register their first points and continue to languish at the bottom of the points table. Both the batting and bowling have been a let down as a result of which the five-time winners became the first team to be knocked out from IPL 2022. They would now be looking forward to testing their bench strength, especially the INR 8 crore recruit Tim David as they look to salvage pride.

Predicted XI for Rajasthan Royals vs Mumbai Indians

Rajasthan Royals

The Rajasthan Royals will be sticking to the same combination that helped them in pull off a remarkable win over RCB.

Jos Buttler, Devdutt Padikkal, Sanju Samson (c & wk), Daryl Mitchell, Shimron Hetmyer, Riyan Parag, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Kuldeep Sen, Yuzvendra Chahal, Prasidh Krishna

Mumbai Indians

With their tournament over, Mumbai Indians might be thinking of giving chances to Tim David and Arjun Tendulkar and should that happen, then they would be left with no choice other than benching the Caribbean all-rounder Kieron Pollard and left-arm pacer Jaydev Unadkat.

Rohit Sharma (c), Ishan Kishan (wk), Dewald Brevis, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Kieron Pollard/Tim David, Daniel Sams, Jaydev Unadkat/Arjun Tendulkar, Hrithik Shokeen, Jasprit Bumrah, Riley Meridith