IPL: Biggest wins in playoffs by runs

The Indian Premier League is arguably the most competitive T20 league in the world where the world’s top cricketers put on a spectacular show to enthrall the fans. The competition in IPL increases ten folds during the playoffs as teams have a lot at stake and are ready to give their all to become the champions of the competition.

As a result, fans get to see highly competitive games during the knockout stages of the league. However, there are some occasions when teams get completely outplayed by their opponents and get hammered in the all-important matches. On that note, let’s take a look at the biggest win by runs in playoffs:

3) 81 runs by MI vs LSG in Chennai, Eliminator, IPL 2023

After winning the toss, MI elected to bat first and posted a score of 182/8 in their allotted 20 overs courtesy of splendid knocks from Cameron Green (41 off 23) and Suryakumar Yadav (33 off 20). In reply, LSG were bundled out for just 101 as Akash Madhwal picked up 5/5 in 3.3 overs. As a result, MI won the match by 81 runs and registered the third-highest victory by margin of runs in IPL playoffs history.

2) 86 runs by CSK vs DD (Delhi Capitals now) in Chennai, Qualifier 2, IPL 2012

Captain Virender Sehwag won the toss and elected to field first, however, the decision backfired big time as CSK posted 222/5, courtesy of a splendid hundred by Murali Vijay (113 off 58). In reply, DD were bundled out for 136 as CSK won the match by 86 runs.

1) 105 runs by RR vs DC in  Mumbai, Semi-Final 1, IPL 2008

Captain Virender Sehwag once again elected to field and regretted the decision as RR once again posted 192/9 on the board. Shane Watson (52 off 29) and Yusuf Pathan (45 off 21) were the top scorers. In reply, DD were bundled out for 87 and RR won the match by 105 runs.