Mitchell Marsh named Australia’s T20I skipper for South Africa series

Mitchell Marsh has been named Australia’s T20I skipper for the tour of South Africa, with the 2024 T20 World Cup less than a year away. South Australia’s left-arm speedster Spenser Johnson, Western Australia’s Aaron Hardie and Adelaide Strikers’ Matthew Short are named in the squad. They are all in line for an international debut during the three-match T20I series.

Star all-rounder Mitchell Marsh became the 12th Men’s player to lead Australia in T20 cricket. He would be looking forward to impressing the selectors with his captaincy acumen. Marsh was in good form during the Ashes scoring 250 runs in three matches at an average of 50. He scored a spectacular century in the third Test at Leeds. Marsh would hope to build on the good form against Aiden Markram and Co.

Australia T20 squad vs South Africa:

Mitchell Marsh (c), Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Steven Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa