BCCI announce India’s squad for U-19 World Cup 2024

The Junior Selection Committee of the BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) announced the U-19 men’s squad for the tri-series in South Africa and the upcoming ICC Men’s U19 World Cup 2024 on Tuesday, December 12. The tri-series will feature England and South Africa alongside India and will begin from 29th December, 2023. While, the final will take place on 10th January, 2024.

Following the tri-nation competition, India’s U-19 side will start preparations for the all-important U-19 World Cup. It will take place in South Africa from January 19 with the opening fixture between Ireland and the USA. Notably, India have been placed in Group A of the tournament along with Bangladesh, Ireland and USA.

The Men in Blue will begin their campaign on 20th January, 2024 against Bangladesh in Bloemfontein. They will next lock horns with Ireland and the USA on the 25th & 28th of January respectively.

A total of 16 teams will be seen participating in the event which have been divided into four groups. At the end of the group stage, top three teams from each group will further progress to the Super Six phase. The top four teams from Super Six will qualify for the semi-finals. The final of the competition will be played on Sunday, February 11 at Willowmoore Park in Benoni. The venue will also host the two semi-finals.

India are the most successful team in U-19 World Cup history

Notably, defending champions India have won the U-19 World Cup on most occasions i.e. five times (2000, 2008, 2012, 2018 and 2022) followed by Australia who’ve won it five times. It will be the third time that South Africa will be hosting the marquee event having previously hosted in 1998 and 2020.

Ahead of the 15th edition of the tournament, the participating teams will also play two warm-up fixtures each between January 13-17.

India squad for tri-series & World Cup: Arshin Kulkarni, Adarsh Singh, Rudra Mayur Patel, Sachin Dhas, Priyanshu Moliya, Musheer Khan, Uday Saharan (C), Aravelly Avanish Rao (WK), Saumy Kumar Pandey (VC), Murugan Abhishek, Innesh Mahajan (WK), Dhanush Gowda, Aaradhya Shukla, Raj Limbani, Naman Tiwari

Traveling standby players for tri-series: Prem Devkar, Ansh Gosai, Md. Amaan

Back-up players: Digvijay Patil, Jayanth Goyat, P Vignesh, Kiran Chormale