BCCI forms a three-member committee to improve domestic cricket

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has taken a significant step towards improving the domestic cricket structure in the country. In its recent Apex Council meeting, the board formed a three-member committee comprising some of the most-known names in Indian cricket, Rahul Dravid, Ajit Agarkar, and VVS Laxman.

The primary objective of this esteemed panel is to provide recommendations and suggestions to enhance the quality and competitiveness of domestic cricket tournaments across India. With their vast experience and deep understanding of the game, these cricketing icons are ideal for the position.

Dravid is currently serving as the Indian men’s team head coach, Agarkar is the chief selector, and Laxman is the head of the National Cricket Academy (NCA).

BCCI aims to improve domestic cricket

One of the key concerns that prompted the formation of this committee was the frequent disruptions caused by inclement weather, particularly in the northern regions of the country during the Ranji Trophy season. Numerous matches were either washed out or heavily curtailed, hampering the smooth conduct of the prestigious tournament.

“There were a lot of issues that cropped up during the conduct of men’s domestic cricket, with a prominent problem being that a lot of games in north India, particularly during the Ranji Trophy, were washed out or heavily curtailed due to bad weather in December-January,” a BCCI source was quoted as saying by TOI.

“Dravid, Laxman, and Agarkar have been asked to give their suggestions to improve men’s domestic cricket,” the source added.

In addition to this initiative, the BCCI has also formed a two-member committee comprising treasurer Ashish Shelar and joint secretary Devajit Saikia to decide on granting Associate Membership to the Union Territories of Daman and Diu, expanding the cricket ecosystem in the country.