David Warner, Babar Azam and Harmanpreet Kaur goes unselected in The Hundred draft

Babar Azam, David Warner, and Indian skipper Harmanpreet Kaur went unselected in The Hundred draft on March 20, at the Shard in London as most of the teams showed interest in West Indies’ stars in the draft.

Nicholas Pooran was the top pick, selected by the Northern Superchargers in the first round. Meanwhile, London Spirit secured the services of Caribbean stars Andre Russell and Shimron Hetmyer, while Rovman Powell and Kieron Pollard were selected by Trent Rockets and Southern Brave, respectively, in the same round for 125,000 pounds.

Several international players were not picked for this Summer’s The Hundred tournament. Star batter Jason Roy and ace speedster Mark Wood are two big English stars who were not picked in the competition. Notably, Roy had withdrawn from the forthcoming 2024 Indian Premier League (IPL) and found himself without a team for this season after going unselected, despite being released by the defending men’s champions, Oval Invincibles.  

In addition to Warner, Tim David was another noted Australian star who was overlooked in The Hundred Draft. Meanwhile, alongside Harmanpreet, Jemimah Rodrigues and Deepti Sharma were also not picked by any team.. Pakistan’s Mohammad Rizwan remained unpicked, while Birmingham Phoenix selected Naseem Shah in the first round.

Furthermore, Indian stars Smriti Mandhana, who recently led Royal Challengers Bangalore to their first-ever title in the WPL, and Richa Ghosh were drafted by Southern Brave and Birmingham Phoenix, respectively. Each team now has the opportunity to add two more domestic players to their squad as wildcard entries for The Hundred 2024, set to commence on July 23.

The Hundred Final Squads:

Birmingham Phoenix

Men’s squad: Chris Woakes, Naseem Shah, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Ben Duckett, Benny Howell, Adam Milne, Jamie Smith, Will Smeed, Sean Abbott, Tom Helm, James Fuller, Dan Mousley, Jacob Bethell

Women’s squad: Amy Jones, Sophie Devine, Richa Ghosh, Ellyse Perry, Katie Levick, Issy Wong, Emily Arlott, Hannah Baker, Seren Smale, Alisa Lister, Chloe Brewer, Sterre Kalis, Charis Pavely

London Spirit

Men’s squad: Zak Crawley, Andre Russell, Shimron Hetmyer, Nathan Ellis, Dan Lawrence, Liam Dawson, Dan Worrall, Olly Stone, Adam Rossington, Richard Gleeson, Ollie Pope, Daniel Bell-Drummond, Matthew Critchley, Michael Pepper

Women’s squad: Meg Lanning, Heather Knight, Grace Harris, Danielle Gibson, Charlie Dean, Sarah Glenn, Cordelia Griffith, Georgia Redmayne, Eva Gray, Sophie Munro, Hannah Jones, Tara Norris, Niamh Holland

Manchester Originals

Men’s squad: Jos Buttler, Jamie Overton, Phil Salt, Sikandar Raza, Paul Walter, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Tom Hartley, Usama Mir, Wayne Madsen, Josh Tongue, Max Holden, Josh Hull, Fred Klaassen, Mitchell Stanley

Women’s squad: Beth Mooney, Sophie Ecclestone, Sophie Molineux, Laura Wolvaardt, Lauren Filer, Eve Jones, Emma Lamb, Mahika Gaur, Fi Morris, Kathryn Bryce, Phoebe Graham, Ellie Threlkeld, Liberty Heap

Northern Superchargers

Men’s squad: Ben Stokes, Nicholas Pooran, Adil Rashid, Harry Brook, Reece Topley, Daniel Sams, Matthew Short, Brydon Carse, Adam Hose, Tom Lawes, Matthew Potts, Graham Clark, Callum Parkinson, Ollie Robinson

Women’s squad: Annabel Sutherland, Phoebe Litchfield, Georgia Wareham, Kate Cross, Bess Heath, Linsey Smith, Alice Davidson-Richards, Hollie Armitage, Grace Ballinger, Marie Kelly, Lucy Higham, Ella Claridge, Devina Perrin

Oval Invincibles

Men’s squad: Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Will Jacks, Adam Zampa, Jordan Cox, Gus Atkinson, Sam Billings, Saqib Mahmood, Spencer Johnson, Dawid Malan, Nathan Sowter, Donovan Ferreira, Tom Lammonby, Tawanda Muyeye

Women’s squad: Chamari Athapaththu, Marizanne Kapp, Alice Capsey, Lauren Winfield-Hill, Amanda-Jade Wellington, Tash Farrant, Mady Villiers, Paige Scholfield, Sophia Smale, Ryana MacDonald-Gay, Jo Gardner, Lizzie Scott, Georgie Boyce

Southern Brave

Men’s squad: Jofra Archer, Kieron Pollard, James Vince, Chris Jordan, Tymal Mills, Laurie Evans, Leus du Plooy, Akeal Hosein, Rehan Ahmed, Craig Overton, Finn Allen, Danny Briggs, George Garton, Alex Davies

Women’s squad: Smriti Mandhana, Danni Wyatt, Chloe Tryon, Lauren Bell, Maia Bouchier, Freya Kemp, Naomi Dattani, Georgia Adams, Lauren Cheatle, Kalea Moore, Tilly Corteen-Coleman, Rhianna Southby, Mary Taylor

Trent Rockets

Men’s squad: Joe Root, Rovman Powell, Rashid Khan, Imad Wasim, Alex Hales, Lewis Gregory, Luke Wood, Tom Banton, John Turner, Sam Hain, Sam Cook, Calvin Harrison, Jordan Thompson, Adam Lyth

Women’s squad: Ash Gardner, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Grace Scrivens, Alana King, Heather Graham, Bryony Smith, Katie George, Kirstie Gordon, Grace Potts, Alexa Stonehouse, Josie Groves, Kira Chathli, Cassidy McCarthy

Welsh Fire

Men’s squad: Jonny Bairstow, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, David Willey, Shaheen Afridi, Joe Clarke, Haris Rauf, Tom Abell, Glenn Phillips, David Payne, Luke Wells, Roelof van der Merwe, Jake Ball, Stevie Eskinazi, Chris Cooke

Women’s squad: Hayley Matthews, Sophia Dunkley, Shabnim Ismail, Tammy Beaumont, Jess Jonassen, Georgia Elwiss, Sarah Bryce, Freya Davies, Phoebe Franklin, Emily Windsor, Ella McCaughan, Claire Nicholas, Alex Griffiths