David Warner set to miss five-match T20I series against India

Veteran Australia batter David Warner has pulled out of the upcoming five-match T20I series against India. The southpaw was incredible for Australia in the recently concluded ODI World Cup, scoring 535 runs in 11 matches. Notably, the T20I series is set to begin just four days after the mega tournament in India. Hence, a lot of senior cricketers of either team will be missing the series as part of their workload management.

Meanwhile, Cricket Australia has confirmed that Warner will be returning to the country after a demanding World Cup. He joins the likes of skipper Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, and Mitchell Marsh among a few others.

“Selectors decided Warner would return home on the back of a successful yet demanding World Cup campaign,” a statement read of Cricket Australia.

Aaron Hardie has been called up to the squad to replace Warner. The 24-year-old made his international debut in the series against South Africa earlier in the year. Notably, Aaron Hardie hasn’t been successful enough in that series. However, he has a terrific record in the Big Bash League, which should give him the confidence to do well.

On the other hand, Kane Richardson has replaced Spencer Johnson, who is currently recovering from a hamstring injury. Richardson has represented Australia in 35 T20I matches, picking up 44 wickets in the process.

Head coach Andrew McDonald too will be missing the T20I series vs India

After a successful World Cup campaign, the 42-year-old has been given a break as Andre Borovec has been announced as the stand-in coach for the series. Travis Head has been appointed as the skipper in the absence of skipper Pat Cummins.

Meanwhile, Glenn Maxwell, Travis Head, Adam Zampa, Steven Smith, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott and Marcus Stoinis have decided to play the T20I series despite being part of Australia’s World Cup campaign squad. However, all these cricketers are not expected to play all five matches. Given that the cricketers barely got any rest in between a hectic tournament.

Australia T20I squad: Matthew Wade (c), Aaron Hardie, Jason Behrendorff, Sean Abbott, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa.