DC vs CSK Preview: Struggling Delhi face in-form Chennai

Match 13 of the Indian Premier League 2024 will witness Delhi Capitals and Chennai Super Kings vie for supremacy at their second home, the ACA-VDCA Stadium Visakhapatnam on a Super Sunday. CSK have lived up to their defending champions tag with two wins in the same number of matches. However, Delhi Capitals have a lot to ponder upon after their consecutive losses.

CSK emerged victorious in the inaugural game of the IPL 2024 against the Royal Challengers Bengaluru at home. They continued their momentum as they hosted Gujarat Titans and dominated what was already an emphatic track record at home. DC was overjoyed when Rishabh Pant made a comeback. However, they could not contain that for long as losses against Punjab Kings as Rajasthan Royals humbled them.

Ruturaj Gaikwad has been spot-on with his bowling changes and the use of impact substitutes. Mustafizur Rahman has been among the wickets and Rachin Ravindra is firing up at the top. CSK have batting that goes very deep and the lack of strike rate in the spin department is something they will address in later stages.

On the other hand, DC has a solid opening pair and it is taking forever to create an impact despite the presence of David Warner. Rishabh Pant is taking his time to get into the groove and Anrich Nortje seems warming up after a comeback from the injury. Not fielding Prithvi Shaw in the squad is a topic worth debating about but their spin department looks in great touch with Kuldeep Yadav and Axar Patel displaying their skills.

Head to Head

Pitch Report

There are no qualms in accepting the Vizag pitch will be a delight for the batters. However, pacers who can hit the deck and extract some movement will be key in the game. Spinners will come into play slightly later in the game and there’s a risk of defending the target on a slightly deteriorated pitch if batted first.

Probable Playing XI

Delhi Capitals: David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Ricky Bhui, Rishabh Pant (c & wk), Tristan Stubbs, Axar Patel, Sumit Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Anrich Nortje, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Abhishek Porel (Impact Player)

Chennai Super Kings: Ruturaj Gaikwad (c), Rachin Ravindra, Ajinkya Rahane, Daryl Mitchell, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Sameer Rizvi, MS Dhoni (wk), Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Mustafizur Rahman, Matheesha Pathirana (Impact Player)