DC vs SRH Review: Ruthless Head and Sharma muscle Delhi in a record-breaking night

Delhi Capitals took on Sunrisers Hyderabad in Match 35 of the Indian Premier League 2024 at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi on April 20. DC won the toss and opted to bowl first. Travis Head (89 off 32) and Abhishek Sharma (46 off 12) amassed the highest-ever powerplay score in IPL’s history before Aiden Markram (1 off 3) and Heinrich Klaasen (15 off 8) fell in quick succession. Nitish Reddy (37 off 37) and Shahbaz Ahmed (59* off 29) took care of the middle overs while Abdul Samad (13 off 8) played a little cameo and SRH posted a mammoth 266 runs on board.

For DC, Prithvi Shaw (16 off 5) departed after scoring four boundaries in the first over whereas David Warner (1 off 3) holed out to Pat Cummins. Jake Fraser-McGurk (65 off 18) and Abhishek Porel (42 off 22) kept the Capitals in the hunt but Tristan Stubbs (10 off 11) and Lalit Yadav (7 off 8) struggled to score boundaries. It all boiled down to Rishabh Pant (44 off 35) and he failed to take DC home. SRH thumped the hosts by 67 runs.

Top Performers of the Match

Travis Head (89 off 32)

Travis Head initiated the onslaught by taking Khaleel Ahmed to the cleaners. He smashed 22 runs off Mukesh Kumar. Four boundaries off Anrich Nortje’s over, and consecutive sixes off Lalit Yadav. Overall, he smashed 11 boundaries and six maximums. He ended with a strike rate of 278.12 and pretty much dictated the course of the game.

T Natarajan (4 for 19)

T Natarajan bowled as if he was on a different deck. He bowled with constrained length and kept asking questions to batters. He cleaned up Lalit’s timber and sent Axar packing in his second spell and then dislodged Nortje’s timber and caught Kuldeep plump in front of the wicket. These are his best figures in IPL.

What’s next for both teams?

Delhi Capitals will take on Gujarat Titans in Match 40 at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi on April 24. Sunrisers Hyderabad will take on Royal Challengers Bengaluru in Match 41 at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on April 25.