GT vs MI Preview: Captain Hardik up against his former team Gujarat Titans

Gujarat Titas (GT) will lock horns with Mumbai Indians (MI) in the fifth match of the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL). The high-octane clash will be held at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday, March 24.

Both GT and MI have locked horns four times and won two each. The head-to-head comparison between both sides is tied. GT will be led by their new captain Shubman Gill as the youngster took over the leadership role after Hardik Pandya was traded to Mumbai Indians. The Titans have a promising batting lineup, especially with Rashid Khan at number eight. He will also be able to add some runs batting down the order. However, their bowling lineup was hurt with ace speedster Mohammed Shami ruled out of IPL due to injury.

MI, on the other hand, arguably has the best batting lineup in the tournament. The five-time champions received a major boost after acquiring the services of their former player Hardik Pandya. Hardik is coming after leading GT in two consecutive finals since their debut in the 2022 season. The star all-rounder’s addition will also benefit them in the bowling attack as well.

Meanwhile, Jasprit Bumrah’s return will also bolster as the speedster is currently in fine form. He will pose a greater challenge against the good-looking GT batting lineup. In addition, MI is without the services of Australian all-rounder Cameron Green. Suryakumar Yadav, the No. 1 T20I batter will miss the forthcoming game as he is yet to recover from an injury.

Head to Head

Pitch Report

The pitch at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad is known for its true bounce. The stadium has five black soil pitches and six red soil pitches. The black soil pitches offer better bounce while the red soil pitches will dry soon. As per the limited-overs fixtures played at this venue, batters could be seen getting some assistance. The average first innings score at this venue is 165.

Probable Playing XI

Gujarat Titans (GT)

Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Shubman Gill, Sai Sudharsan, Kane Williamson, David Miller, Abhinav Manohar, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Spencer Johnson, Umesh Yadav, Mohit Sharma.

Mumbai Indians (MI)

Rohit Sharma, Ishan Kishan (wk), Tilak Varma, Nehal Wadhera, Hardik Pandya (c), Tim David, Mohammad Nabi, Gerald Coetzee, Piyush Chawla, Jasprit Bumrah, Nuwan Thushara