Highest opening partnerships in T20Is

In the fast-paced world of T20 International (T20I) cricket, partnerships play a pivotal role in setting the tone of the match. These dynamic alliances between batsmen can turn the tide of a match, propelling teams to victory. The partnership between Virat Kohli and Hardik Pandya proved vital against Pakistan in the T20 World Cup 2022, while Jos Buttler and Alex Hales’ 170-run partnership ruled India out of the contest in the semi-final.

On that note, let’s delve into the highest partnership stands in T20Is, where records have been shattered and boundaries breached.

3) 223 – Aaron Finch & D’Arcy Short vs Zimbabwe in 2018

During the 2018 Tri-Nation T20 tournament in Harare, Aaron Finch and D’Arcy Short displayed some brilliant hitting in Harare. Opening the innings for Australia, Finch unleashed a spectacular 172 runs off just 76 balls. Not to be outdone, Short contributed a vital 46 runs to the partnership. Their relentless assault on the Zimbabwean attack propelled Australia to a commanding total of 229/2 in their allotted 20 overs as they won the match by 100 runs.

2) 236 – Hazratullah Zazai & Usman Ghani vs Ireland in 2019

The duo of Hazratullah Zazai and Usman Ghani etched their names in cricket history by amassing a colossal 236-run partnership against Ireland on February 23, 2019, in Dehradun. Batting first, Zazai looked unstoppable as he smashed 162* runs off just 62 deliveries while Ghani hit 73 runs off 48 balls.

1) 258 – Kendel Kadowaki-Fleming & Lachlan Yamamoto-Lake vs China in 2024

Japan etched their names in the annals of cricket history during the East Asia Cup 2024. Skipper Kendel Kadowaki-Fleming and opener Lachlan Yamamoto-Lake orchestrated an unbeaten 258-run partnership against China, setting a new world record for the highest-ever partnership in a T20 International match. Kadowaki-Fleming wielded his bat with authority, smashing an unbeaten 109 runs while Yamamoto-Lake unleashed his own fireworks, amassing 134 runs. They won the match by 180 runs and also qualified for the finals but suffered a defeat against Hong Kong.