ICC announces schedule for T20 World Cup 2024

The much-awaited ninth edition of the T20 World Cup will get underway on June 1 2024 in the West Indies and the USA as 20 teams will be seen fighting against each other for the coveted trophy. Hosts USA will take on Canada in the opening fixture while the most awaited India vs Pakistan game will be played on June 9 in New York.

The two semi-finals will take place on the 26th and 27th June in Guyana and Trinidad respectively while the T20 extravaganza will come to a close with the all-important final on June 29th in Barbados. The tournament will feature a new format than the last four editions where the 20 participating teams will be divided into four groups of five teams each. Group A contains India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, and the USA which will also host all the matches of the group.

The defending champions England are in Group B along with Australia, Namibia, Scotland, and Oman. Co-hosts West Indies are placed in Group C along with New Zealand, Afghanistan, Uganda, and Papua New Guinea while Asian rivals Sri Lanka and Bangladesh are placed in Group D along with South Africa, Netherlands, and Nepal.

Notably, Group D is the only group whose matches will be hosted both in the West Indies and the US. Teams finishing in the top two positions in each group will further qualify for the Super Eights stage where they will be further divided into two groups of four each. The Super 8 draw will be determined by the pre-tournament seedings of the teams irrespective of where they finish in their groups. Notably, teams will also be pre-assigned a group for their Super 8 stage as well.

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Groups

Group AGroup BGroup CGroup D
IndiaEnglandNew ZealandSouth Africa
PakistanAustraliaWest IndiesSri Lanka
USAOmanPapua New GuineaNepal

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 knockout stage schedule

26th JuneSemi Final 1Guyana
27th JuneSemi Final 2Trinidad
28th JuneFinalBarbados