ICC releases new promo of T20 World Cup 2024

The ICC T20 World Cup 2024 is just over three months away as the mega event will begin on Saturday, June 01 in the West Indies and the USA. Fans are eagerly waiting for the T20 extravaganza to get underway and to add to the excitement, the ICC released a new promo of the event on Thursday, February 22.

In the video, several cricketers marked their presence as South Africa wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock, star India batter Shuman Gill, Pakistan speedster Shaheen Afridi, Australia all-rounder Marcus Stoinis, and former West Indies all-rounder Kieron Pollard featured in the one-minute 26-second-long clip. The video even featured the star India batter Virat Kohli bowling in the T20 World Cup 2016 semi-final against the West Indies.

The promo celebrates the spirit of fans who leave no stone unturned while supporting their teams as it beautifully captures their mercurial emotions during a cricket match.

Watch the promo here:

The tickets for the tournament went for general sale earlier today, however, the match passes for the opening game and the highly anticipated India vs Pakistan clash are not yet available on the official ICC website. Notably, the USA and Canada will take on each other in the curtain raiser of the event on Saturday, June 01 at Grand Prairie Stadium, Dallas.

India and Pakistan to lock horns on June 9

On the other hand, the much-awaited India vs Pakistan game will be played on Sunday, June 09 at Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York at 8 PM IST. The Men in Blue will start their campaign against Ireland on June 05 and will next lock horns with arch-rivals Pakistan, the United States (June 12), and Canada (June 15).

The upcoming edition will see a total of 20 teams participating in the mega event divided into four groups of five each. Following the end of the group stage, teams finishing in the top two spots of each group will qualify for the Super 8s stage where they will be further divided into two groups of four each.

Teams finishing in the top two of each group in Super 8 will qualify for the semi-finals to be played on June 26 and 27 while the winners of both semis will clash in the final on June 29 in Barbados.