IND vs AUS: 2nd T20I Review – India display their dominant show in Trivandrum

The 2nd T20I of the ongoing five-game series between India and Australia saw both sides face off at the Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram on Sunday, November 26.

The clash began with the Indian team coming into bat first after losing the toss.

The Men in Blue got off to a brilliant start as openers Yashasvi Jaiswal and Ruturaj Gaikwad played brilliant knocks. Jaiswal scored 53 runs in 25 deliveries, with Gaikwad amassing 58 runs in 43 deliveries. Furthermore, Ishan Kishan scored 52 runs in 32 balls before Rinku Singh played a brilliant cameo. He scored a blitzkrieg 31* runs in nine balls.

Rinku’s knock propelled India to a mammoth total of 235 runs in the first innings. For Australia, Nathan Ellis was the highest wicket-taker with three wickets to his name while Marcus Stoinis struck once.

Later, the Indian bowlers put in a magnificent performance as they defended the target. Prasidh Krishna and Ravi Bishnoi took three wickets each with Arshdeep Singh, Axar Patel, and Mukesh Kumar taking one wicket each as well. Marcus Stoinis was the highest run-getter for Australia with 45. While, Matthew Wade (42 off 23) and Tim David (37 off 22) also briefly threatened India, but the hosts ensured to limit Australia to 191 to win the game by 44 runs.

Top Performers of the Match

Yashasvi Jaiswal: Indian opener Yashasvi Jaiswal was the best batter in the second T20I against Australia. Playing a brilliant 53-run knock in just 25 deliveries, Jaiswal helped India post a big total on the board. He smashed nine fours and two sixes.

Ravi Bishnoi: Indian spinner Ravi Bishnoi was the best bowler in the second T20I against Australia, taking three brilliant wickets, Bishnoi conceded 32 runs in the four overs that he bowled in the game. His spell was exceptional and crucial in liming the Aussies to a subpar total and the Men in Blue defending the target.

What’s next for both teams?

India and Australia will face off in the third T20I of the series at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati on Tuesday, November 28.