India announce 15-member squad for T20 World Cup 2024

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced India’s 15-member squad for the upcoming edition of the T20 World Cup 2024, which is set to be played in June, in the West Indies and the USA.

Rohit Sharma will continue to lead the side and Hardik Pandya has been named as the vice-captain. Some reports suggested Virat Kohli’s place in the squad wasn’t a surety. However, the former India captain has been selected, and he will want to help India win the coveted ICC silverware after 11 years.

Meanwhile, Rishabh Pant, who returned to professional cricket during the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 after being unavailable for 14 months, has found a place in the side. Sanju Samson is the other wicketkeeping option in the line-up. However, there is no place for the experienced KL Rahul in the 15-man squad.

Shivam Dube and the experienced Yuzvendra Chahal have earned their places in the side after consistent performances during IPL 2024. Yashasvi Jaiswal is the only specialist opening batter named in the squad, apart from skipper Rohit. Meanwhile, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, and Mohammed Siraj are the three specialist pacers in the side.

Team India Squad: Rohit Sharma (C), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Hardik Pandya, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammed Siraj

Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan