India move to the top in WTC table after New Zealand’s defeat vs Australia

India has ascended to the summit of the ICC World Test Championship (WTC) 2023-25 points table. Their rise comes on the heels of Australia’s triumphant outing against New Zealand in the first Test at Wellington on Sunday.

The Kiwis, enduring a bitter setback, witnessed a notable decline in their points’ percentage (PCT) as Australia clinched a resounding 172-run win. Stellar performances from Cameron Green, who notched up a century in the first innings, and Nathan Lyon, claiming a ten-wicket match haul, spearheaded the Aussie charge. New Zealand’s PCT plummeted from 75 to 60 following their defeat, while the reigning champions, Australia, saw an uptick in their PCT from 55 to 59.09, marking their seventh win in 11 matches this cycle.

The focus now shifts to the impending clash between New Zealand and Australia in the second Test at Hagley Oval in Christchurch, scheduled to commence on March 08. Looking ahead, the BlackCaps brace for challenging encounters away in Sri Lanka and India later this year, before culminating the league against England at home in November-December. Meanwhile, Australia faces two crucial series ahead – the Border-Gavaskar Trophy against India towards the end of 2024, followed by a two-Test tour to Sri Lanka in January 2025.

India look to make it big in Dharamsala

India, buoyed by their current standing, enters the fray with a chance to bolster their lead in the WTC standings as they gear up for the fifth Test against England in Dharamsala. With a PCT of 64.58 after eight matches, including five wins, two losses, and a draw, Rohit Sharma’s men are in prime position. Conversely, England finds themselves languishing in eighth place, compounded by their sixth defeat and a loss of 19 points due to slow over-rate offenses.

Sri Lanka, at the foot of the points table, seeks redemption after suffering two losses from as many games. India’s upcoming fixtures include hosting Bangladesh and New Zealand across five Tests between September and November, before concluding their WTC cycle with the Border-Gavaskar Trophy tour to Australia.