India women’s squad announced for Bangladesh T20Is

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), on Monday, April 15, announced the squad for the Indian women’s team that will be traveling to Bangladesh in late April. The two teams will collide in a five-match T20I series, beginning April 28.

The Women’s Selection Committee has revealed that Harmanpreet Kaur will be leading the side. Notably, opening batter Smriti Mandhana will be Harmanpreet’s deputy for the tour, indicating no change in core leadership. However, the selectors have introduced some new faces in the 16-member roster for the away tour.

The most notable name on the list is Sajana Sajeevan, who set the Women’s Premier League 2024 ablaze with many impressive performances. The spin all-rounder has been finally rewarded for a string of dazzling outings for Mumbai Indians Women and in the domestic circuit as well.

Speaking more about the tour, the first game will be played on April 28, followed by the second on the 30th. The third and fourth match will be afternoon encounters on May 2 and 6, respectively. The tour will culminate on May 9 with the final clash of the series. All the fixtures are scheduled to be played at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, Sylhet.

India’s squad for 5 T20Is against Bangladesh:

Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali Verma, Dayalan Hemalatha, Sajana Sajeevan, Richa Ghosh (wk), Yastika Bhatia (wk), Radha Yadav, Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Amanjot Kaur, Shreyanka Patil, Saika Ishaque, Asha Sobhana, Renuka Singh Thakur, Titas Sadhu.