LSG vs CSK Preview: Lucknow seek winning momentum against in-form Chennai

The action will continue in the Indian Premier League 2024 (IPL 2024) as Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will take on each other in Match 24 at BRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow. Chennai is coming into the game having won back-to-back fixtures against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Mumbai Indians (MI). They are ranked in the third spot on the points table with four wins from six matches, having eight points to their name.

On the other hand, Lucknow is coming into the game on the back of consecutive losses against Delhi Capitals (DC) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). The KL Rahul-led side started their season with a loss against Rajasthan Royals (RR) but made a brilliant comeback by winning their next three games against Punjab Kings (PBKS), Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) and Gujarat Titans. They find themselves in the fifth spot on the points table with three wins from six matches having six points to their name.

Lucknow will be desperate for a win in the upcoming fixture to get their campaign back on track while Chennai will look to continue their winning momentum to take the second spot on the points table.

Pitch Report

In the three matches played so far at the venue in the season, two have been won by teams batting first. The average first innings score has been 176 while the highest target chased has been 168. The spinners find good purchase from the surface in the middle overs and the pitch also aids run-scoring if batters stay in the middle long enough. The captain winning the toss will look to bat first keeping the recent record of the venue in mind.

Probable Playing XI

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)

Quinton de Kock, KL Rahul (c & wk), Deepak Hooda, Ayush Badoni, Marcus Stoinis, Nicholas Pooran, Krunal Pandya, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohsin Khan, Mayank Yadav, Yash Thakur

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Rachin Ravindra, Ajinkya Rahane, Ruturaj Gaikwad (C), Sameer Rizvi, Shivam Dube, Moeen Ali, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (WK), Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Tushar Deshpande