MI vs RCB Preview: Mumbai, Bengaluru search for second win of the season

The Indian Premier League 2024 (IPL 2024) has been an enthralling affair so far as fans have got to see some entertaining cricket in the first 23 matches of the tournament. The action is expected to go several notches higher as Mumbai Indians (MI) and Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) will take on each other in Match 25 on Thursday, April 11 at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

Mumbai are coming into the game having finally earned crucial two points with a 29-run win over Delhi Capitals (DC) in their last fixture. The Hardik Pandya-led side started their campaign with three consecutive losses, however, a win in their last fixture could well prove to be the driving force in their pale campaign so far.

On the other hand, RCB also finds themselves in a similar condition as MI, having won just one out of the five matches so far. They began their campaign with a six-wicket loss against southern rivals Chennai Super Kings but made a brilliant comeback by winning the second fixture against Punjab Kings (PBKS). The Faf du Plessis-led side failed to continue their winning momentum and lost the next three games on the trot.

As a result, they find themselves in the second last spot on the points table with just one win from five games having two points to their name. With both teams desperate to bring their campaign back on track, the upcoming fixture promises to be extremely crucial for both sides. Hence, the contest promises to be a mouth-watering affair for the fans.

Head to Head

Pitch Report

There have been a total of two matches played at the venue in the tournament so far, out of which one each has been won by teams batting and bowling first. The average first innings score has been 179 while the highest target chased has been 126. Captain winning the toss is likely to bat first keeping the record of the venue in mind.

Probable Playing XI

Mumbai Indians (MI)

Rohit Sharma, Ishan Kishan (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Hardik Pandya (c), Tim David, Mohammad Nabi, Romario Shepherd, Piyush Chawla, Gerald Coetzee, Jasprit Bumrah

Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB)

Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis (c), Glenn Maxwell, Will Jacks, Mahipal Lomror, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Saurav Chauhan, Reece Topley, Mayank Dagar, Mohammed Siraj, Vijaykumar Vyshak