New Zealand to tour Pakistan for five T20Is in April

The Pakistan Cricket Board has announced New Zealand’s tour for a five-match T20I series, starting from April 18. The Blackcaps are set to touch down in Pakistan’s capital on April 14, marking the beginning of an anticipated series. The action kicks off with three T20 Internationals at Rawalpindi’s Pindi Cricket Stadium on April 18, 20, and 21. Subsequently, the cricketing spectacle shifts to Lahore, where the final two T20Is will be played on April 25 and 27.

The impending tour will be New Zealand’s third visit to Pakistan in 17 months. Previously, they played two Tests and three ODIs from December 2022 to January 2023. Later, in April 2023, they participated in a series comprising 10 white-ball matches with matches spread across Lahore, Rawalpindi, and Karachi.

“In a testament to the unwavering camaraderie between Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) and New Zealand Cricket (NZC), we are delighted to present the schedule for New Zealand men’s team tour to Pakistan 2024. This tour symbolises the deep-rooted ties and mutual respect that define the relationship between our two cricketing nations,” Usman Wahala, Director of International cricket operations for PCB, was quoted as saying by PCB’s official website.

“Our avid cricket fans and the people of Pakistan will welcome the New Zealand team again and we hope to have yet another competitive series which is a key part of our buildup to this year’s ICC T20 World Cup,” he added.

Talking about the recent encounters between the two teams, the 2022-23 Test series concluded in a stalemate, with both sides failing to secure a victory. However, New Zealand emerged victorious in the ODI series, clinching it with a 2-1 margin. The subsequent five-match T20I series ended in a thrilling deadlock of 2-2. Pakistan retaliated fiercely in the ODIs and dominated the Blackcaps with a commanding 4-1 win. Earlier this year, Pakistan faced a setback in New Zealand, as they succumbed to a 4-1 defeat in the T20I series.

Pakistan vs New Zealand 2024 series schedule

18 April – 1st T20I, Rawalpindi

20 April – 2nd T20I, Rawalpindi

21 April – 3rd T20I, Rawalpindi

25 April – 4th T20I, Lahore

27 April – 5th T20I, Lahore