On this day in 2008: Birth of the IPL – the biggest T20 revolution

18th April 2008. If you are a cricket fan, you will never forget this date. It was on this date that the Indian Premier League (IPL) was born. The best players across the world featured in the league, and the new concept called the IPL got off to an electrifying start due to a man named Brendon McCullum.

When the inaugural match between the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) was played, there was a huge sense of anticipation. And, McCullum catapulted the IPL to the top straight away with a blistering 158* that created the ‘Wow’ element among the fans.

The Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) side won the toss and opted to field in the very first match of the IPL. And, the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) innings was all about McCullum. In an assault that still shines forth, the KKR opening batsman smashed a whirlwind 158* off just 73 deliveries and demolished the Bangalore outfit.

McCullum’s century propelled the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) to a total of 222/3. In reply, the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) side put up a substandard batting display. None of their willow wielders could even cross the 20-run mark, and the Rahul Dravid led outfit was bowled out for a paltry score of just 82.

Ajit Agarkar was the star performer for the Kolkata side with the ball in hand. The right-arm pacer scalped 3 wickets in the 4 overs that he bowled and gave away 25 runs.

And from there, the IPL has grown leaps and bounds. The league is into its 15th year and has emerged stronger with every passing year. Now, it is the biggest property in the cricketing world and the biggest attraction in the sport. It has been 15 years since the IPL began, and time has flown by.

And, on this occasion, let us wish the greatest cricketing league in the world a very happy 15th birthday.