On this day in 2014: Sri Lanka win World T20

After facing heart-breaking defeats in the preceding two editions of the T20 World Cup, Sri Lanka finally made a mark on the global stage and won the 2014 edition of the 20-over global tournament. The Lankan Lions defeated India in the summit clash in Bangladesh, won the game by six wickets, and lifted the prestigious silverware.

The victory was further evidence of Sri Lanka’s persistence in important ICC competitions. They came in second place in the 2009 and 2012 editions of the competition but were unable to take the trophy home. But by defeating India at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium in Dhaka, the Islanders became the fifth nation to win the T20 World Cup title.

India struggle to accelerate

Sri Lanka had a spectacular campaign at the T20 World Cup 2014. Their lone loss came in the group stage against England. Despite having 189 runs on the board following a remarkable 90 from Mahela Jayawardene, the team nevertheless lost the game. In the competition final, India and Sri Lanka squared off against one another for the second time on a global level, first since the 2011 ICC World Cup.

Lasith Malinga, who led the team’s bowling unit, captained the Sri Lankan team in the final because regular skipper Dinesh Chandimal had been suspended due to slow over-rate problem. Malinga won the toss and put India to bat first. Sri Lanka handed their opponents an early blow as they sent Ajinkya Rahane packing very early in the game.

The Men in Blue were seen under pressure after they lost the opening batter in just the second over of the contest. It was then the sensational knock by Virat Kohli as the top-order batter notched up 77 runs off 58 deliveries, helping India post a total of 130/4. Though the Sri Lankan bowlers could manage to take only four wickets, they restricted India really well.

Sri Lanka complete an easy win

Sri Lanka’s start to the chase was also hampered by Mohit Sharma’s fiery second over as he dismissed opening batter Kusal Perera. But comprehensive efforts by the bowling unit followed by Kumar Sangakkara’s unbeaten 35-ball 52 helped Sri Lanka finish off the chase with 13 balls to spare, and win the summit clash by six wickets.