On this day in 2020: Australia-W lift their 5th World Cup title

In 2020, Australia beat India by 85 runs at Melbourne Cricket Ground to win their fifth Women’s T20 World Cup title. Meg Lanning’s team dominated the game, shattering India’s batting order and putting on an all-around performance.

Australian openers hammer India

Alyssa Healy and Beth Mooney led the charge, scoring half-centuries to thrill the crowd. Healy hit 75 runs off 39 deliveries, including a record 30-ball half-century, before losing her wicket to Radha Yadav. Mooney continued playing without giving up her wicket, scoring 78 runs off 54 balls. The opening partnership scored 115 runs, contributing to the team’s total of 184/4 in 20 overs. Deepti Sharma provided India with a much-needed breakthrough by taking two wickets in one over, but India’s fielding was poor, and the team dropped catches.

India’s top order fails to show up

India’s top order crumbled as Shafali Verma, Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, and captain Harmanpreet Kaur were all dismissed in the first six overs while trying to chase the big score. Taniya Bhatia left the game in the second over due to injury after being hit in the helmet by Jess Jonassen’s spin. Deepti and Veda Krishnamurthy attempted to bring India back but were all out for 99 in 19.1 overs. Sharma led India in scoring with 33 runs, followed by Krishnamurthy’s 19 runs and Richa Ghosh’s 18 runs. Megan Schutt and Jess Jonassen defended their championship title by taking 4/18 and 3/20 wickets, respectively.