Prakhar Chaturvedi creates history in the final of Cooch Behar Trophy

The summit clash of the Cooch Behar Trophy saw history being made as Karnataka’s Prakhar Chaturvedi put forth a magnificent performance against Mumbai in the domestic tournament final.

Staying unbeaten on a mammoth total of 404 runs off 638 deliveries, Prakhar achieved the stuff of dreams against Mumbai. The young batter hit 46 fours and three sixes in his knock to reach the milestone.

It is also worth noting that Prakhar opened the innings for Karnataka and remained unbeaten until the side declared victory. His knock saw him become the first-ever player to score 400 runs in the final of the Cooch Behar Trophy.

His performance saw Karnataka post 890 runs in the first innings for the loss of eight wickets in 223 overs. Apart from Prakhar, Harshil Dharmani was the other centurion in the Karnataka lineup, scoring 169 runs in 228 deliveries.

Karnataka declared Cooch Behar Trophy champions

In the game, Karnataka encountered a spot of trouble as they conceded 380 runs against Mumbai in the first innings. Ayush Mhatre opened for Mumbai, scoring 145 runs in 180 deliveries. As for Karnataka, Hardik Raj was the side’s highest wicket-taker in the first innings, with four wickets.

Samit Dravid and Samarth N took two wickets each, with Agastya S Raju and Dheeraj Gowda striking once each. Conceding 380 runs in the first innings saw the game slip from Karnataka’s grasp; however, Prakhar’s mammoth knock saw the side post a huge total on the board. Taking a huge lead of 510 runs in the first innings, Karnataka declared on the fourth day, and both sides settled for a draw after a mutual decision. The first-innings lead awarded Karnataka the title of the new champions of the Cooch Behar Trophy.