RCB vs LSG Review: Lucknow topple Bengaluru to secure second victory

Lucknow Super Giants took on Royal Challengers Bengaluru in Match 15 of the Indian Premier League 2024 at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on April 2. RCB won the toss and opted to bat first. LSG was off to a fiery start as Quinton de Kock (81 off 56) and KL Rahul (20 off 14) breached the 50-run mark within the powerplay. Marcus Stoinis (24 off 15) and Nicholas Pooran (40* off 21) were handy in the middle after Devdutt Padikkal (6 off 11) holed out. LSG finished their innings with 181 runs on board costing them five wickets.

RCB looked solid at the start with Virat Kohli (22 off 16) and Faf du Plessis (19 off 13) amassing 40 runs for the first wicket. They underwent massive turmoil as Glenn Maxwell (0 off 2) and Cameron Green (9 off 9) could not resist. Rajat Patidar (29 off 21) perished upping the ante while Anuj Rawat (11 off 21) and Dinesh Karthik (4 off 8) failed to contribute. Mahipal Lomror (33 off 13) showed some intent as RCB was outshined by LSG and Lucknow won by 28 runs.

Top Performers of the match

Quinton de Kock (81 off 56)

Quinton de Kock started with a bang smashing three boundaries of Reece Topley in the first over. He then was a linchpin behind the 53-run stand for the first wicket with KL Rahul. After Rahul departed, the onus fell on him to keep the momentum going. And he came up with timely hits and stayed till the 17th over. In his extended stay, De Kock kept the ball sailing over the rope five times and hit eight boundaries at a strike rate of 144.64.

Mayank Yadav (3 for 14)

Mayank Yadav continued his dream run in IPL 2024 in Match 15 too. He bowled the fastest delivery of the season so far clicking 156.7. He bulldozed over the RCB middle order with sheer pace and dominance with the ball and sent packing Glenn Maxwell without letting him open his account. Then he dislodged Cameron Green’s timber and Rajat Patidar was his last snatch of the night.

What’s next for both teams?

Lucknow Super Giants will take on Gujarat Titans in Match 21 at the Ekana Stadium in Lucknow on March April 7. Royal Challengers Bengaluru will take on Rajasthan Royals in Match 19 at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur on April 6.