Reports: India vs Pakistan T20 World Cup clash set for June 9

The much-awaited ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will be hosted by the West Indies and the United States from June 4 to 30. This is the first time the United States earned the right to co-host an ICC T20 World Cup tournament. England are the reigning champions, having thrashed Pakistan in the final of the previous edition held in Australia. Barbados is expected to host the finale of the ICC tournament.

Team India is expected to play their group-stage matches in the United States. While their Super 8 games are in the Caribbean nation. The curtain raiser is reportedly set to take place on June 5 where India will take on Ireland. Meanwhile, India’s critical clash against arch-rivals Pakistan is likely to be held in New York on June 9. Moreover, India will face off against the USA in New York on June 12. They will then travel to Florida to play Canada in their last group-stage game.

Teams, format, and qualification scenario of the ICC T20 World Cup

A total of 20 qualifying sides will be divided into four groups of five teams. The top two sides in each group will advance to the Super 8 round and at that stage, they will be divided into two groups containing four teams. In addition, the top two teams from two groups in the Super 8 round will qualify for the knockout stage, consisting of two semi-finals and a final.

The top eight teams from the previous edition and the two hosts qualified automatically for the forthcoming competition. Ireland and Scotland are the first two teams to qualify from the Europe Qualifier. Followed by Papua New Guinea from the East Asia-Pacific Qualifier in July 2023. Canada acquired their qualification after defeating Bermuda in their final match in the Americas Qualifier in October 2023. After a month, Nepal and Oman qualified after they reached the final of the Asia Qualifier. Meanwhile, Namibia and Uganda were the last teams to qualify after their top-two finish in the Africa Qualifier.

India’s likely group stage schedule for the T20 World Cup 2024:

1st Match: India vs Ireland on June 5 (New York)

2nd Match: India vs Pakistan on June 9 (New York)

3rd Match: India vs USA on June 12 (New York)

4th Match: India vs Canada on June 15 (Florida)