Rohit Sharma levels MS Dhoni for most T20I wins as India captain

India Captain Rohit Sharma etched his name in record books after the win in the second T20I against Afghanistan on Sunday, January 14 as he became the joint-most successful Indian captain in the shortest format. Notably, Rohit registered his 41st win as an Indian captain in T20Is in his 53rd game as the skipper and leveled with legendary MS Dhoni who also has 41 wins from 72 matches.

Rohit first captained India in T20Is during a home series against Sri Lanka in 2017. During just his second T20I game as captain, the 36-year-old scored the then-fastest hundred in the format reaching the landmark in just 35 balls. He further led them to a win in the T20I tri-series against Sri Lanka and Bangladesh in March 2018.

The Nagpur-born cricketer further captained India in the last T20 World Cup in 2022 where they got knocked out following an embarrassing ten-wicket loss against England in the second semi-final. Rohit is once again the front-runner to captain the side in the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 scheduled to be held in the West Indies and USA from June 1.

The 36-year-old also became the first male cricketer to play 150 T20Is during the second game against Afghanistan however, he got dismissed for his second consecutive duck of the series. Rohit is the second-highest run-scorer in T20Is with 3853 runs to his name in 142 innings at an average of 30.82 and a strike rate of 139.09 with four hundreds and 29 fifties.

Rohit Sharma will look to surpass Dhoni’s feat in the last T20I against Afghanistan

He’s also the only cricketer to have featured in all the editions of the T20 World Cup so far having made his debut during the inaugural edition of the tournament in 2007. The Indian skipper will aim to complete a 3-0 whitewash over Afghanistan by winning the last T20I of the series to be played on Wednesday, January 17 at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru.