South Africa announces multi-format squads for India series

To focus more on red-ball cricket, ODI skipper Temba Bavuma and Kagiso Rabada decided to skip the white-ball series against India. Bavuma faced harsh criticism following South Africa’s exit from the semi-finals of the recently concluded ODI World Cup and following this, there were talks of him getting removed as skipper but nothing has been finalized so far.

On the other hand, Anrich Nortje is yet to recover from a stress fracture and hence, he will miss the entire series. Sisanda Magala too will be missing the series due to a knee injury. Meanwhile, David Bedingham earned his debut call-up in the Test team, while Mihlali Mpongwana earned his first ODI call-up. Nandre Burger has been called up for the first time as he will feature in both ODIs and T20Is.

Meanwhile, Ottniel Baartman is back in the scheme of things. The 30-year-old is yet to make his debut for the national team but has been in the reckoning for a long time. In the absence of Rabada, Baartman can finally make it to the playing XI as he was in decent form for the Dolphins in FC and List A cricket.

A lot of new faces have been given the opportunity in the series against India. This can be considered as a fresh start for the national team, as they eye to do well in the upcoming T20 World Cup, Champions Trophy, and also in the World Test Championship. The Temba Bavuma-led side was close to making it to the finals of WTC in the last edition but ultimately failed to do so.

Against India, they have a very strong record at home and the aim will be to continue with the same but they lack experience in the batting department, which is concerning.

South Africa T20I squad: Aiden Markram (c), Ottniel Baartman, Matthew Breetzke, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee (1st and 2ndT20Is), Donovan Ferreira, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen (1st and 2nd T20Is), Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi (1st and 2nd T20Is), Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, and Lizaad Williams

South Africa ODI squad: Aiden Markram (c), Ottniel Baartman, Nandre Burger, Tony de Zorzi, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Mihlali Mpongwana, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne and Lizaad Williams

South Africa Test squad: Temba Bavuma (c), David Bedingham, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee, Tony de Zorzi, Dean Elgar, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Keegan Petersen, Kagiso Rabada, Tristan Stubbs and Kyle Verreynne