Under-19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2024 – All you need to know

The 15th ICC Under-19 Men’s Cricket World Cup is scheduled to be held in South Africa between January and February. Sri Lanka got the hosting rights initially but due to the suspension of ICC, the tournament was later shifted to the Rainbow Nation. The opening game will be played between Ireland and the USA at Mangaung Oval. India, the defending champions, will take on Bangladesh in their first game on January 20.


The competition starts on January 19 and will conclude on February 11.


The games will be contested in venues like – Potchefstroom, Bloemfontein, Benoni, Kimberley and East London. The semi-finals and the final will all be played in Benoni.


The upcoming tournament will follow the format used in the 2023 Under-19 Women’s World Cup. The tournament features 16 teams grouped into A, B, C, and D. The top three from each group advance to the Super Six stage, where A and D fourth-placers and B and C fourth-placers face off in the placement stage. In the Super Six stage, top three teams from A and D form one group, while those from B and C form another. Each team plays two matches against counterparts from a different group stage position. The top two teams from each Super Six group progress to the semi-finals.

New teams

No new teams have been added for the upcoming event. Notably, the USA are the most inexperienced team as this year’s tournament will be their third.

Defending champions

India are the defending champions, having outplayed England in the final in 2022 under the captaincy of Yash Dhull.

U-19 World Cup winners

India are the most successful team in the history of the tournament, winning the title record five times.

India- 2000, 2008, 2012, 2018, 2022

Australia- 1988, 2002, 2010

Pakistan- 2004, 2006

Bangladesh- 2020

South Africa- 2014

West Indies- 2016

England- 1998


There will be no DRS (Decision Review System) in the tournament.