Watch: Umpire corrects herself after hilarious error

South Africa are currently in Australia, playing a multi-format series against Alyssa Healy and Co. After the T20I series was won by the Aussies by a 2-1 margin, they registered a comfortable win in the first ODI, chasing down a paltry target of 106, with eight wickets and 31 overs to spare.

On Wednesday, February 7, the two teams are playing the second ODI at the North Sydney Oval. Australia won the toss and elected to bowl first. An interesting incident took place in the 24th over of South Africa’s innings. Sune Luus tried to execute a sweep shot off the final ball of Ashleigh Gardner’s over. However, the ball slipped under her bat and thudded into her front pad.

The Aussies went up in appeal but umpire Claire Polosak remained unmoved. The fielding side decided to review the call. Ball-tracking suggested Luus had been struck outside the line of the off-stump. The TV umpire asked Claire to stay with her original decision of not out. The latter heard the instruction but instead of signaling not out, she raised her finger, much to the amazement of the Australian fielders.

However, she was quick to realize her mistake and she immediately signaled not out, while sporting a cheeky smile. The Australian players were left in splits as well. Luus was eventually dismissed for 19 off 33 balls, as she was caught by Annabel Sutherland off the bowling of Gardner. The Proteas slipped to 117/4 in 25.2 overs after Luus’ dismissal.