On this day in 2018: Trinbago Knight Riders lift their third CPL title

Dasher Colin Munro was simply amazing with the bat as Trinbago Knight Riders thrashed Guyana Amazon Warriors in the final of CPL 2018 to defend their title and clinch the trophy for the third time, on this day in 2018.

TKR after winning the toss decided to field as they restricted the Warriors to 147/ 9 with left-arm spinner Khary Pierre picking up 3/29 in his quota. Skipper Dwayne Bravo also scalped two wickets.

Earlier a perfect start was given with the ball as pacer Ali Khan bowled Cameron Delport, but the Warriors recovered through a 52-run stand for the second wicket between Luke Ronchi and Shimron Hetmyer.

However, an excellent bowling spell from Pierre meant that the Warriors could not cross the 150-run mark in their allotted 20 overs. The left-arm spinner first had Ronchi and Chadwick Walton in the 11th over, before dismissing Sherfane Rutherford on the second ball of the 13th to leave his opposition 95/5.

Chasing a little less than 150, TKR openers Denesh Ramdin and Brendon McCullum stitched a 50+ run stand before McCullum got out. However, another Kiwi batter, Colin Munro replaced him in the middle. TKR maintained their dominance in the match despite Ramdin getting hit wicket.

TKR found themselves in some sort of trouble when senior batter Darren Bravo had to retire hurt with a hamstring issue. There was a rain stoppage as well, but nothing stopped Munro. He got the equation down to 31 needed off four overs and finished the game soon after smashing 25 runs off pacer Rayad Emrit in the 17th over. It included three sixes, with the second one giving him his half-century. Fittingly, he ended the game with a boundary, smashing Sohail Tanvir through covers.