Rahane returns as India announce their WTC final squad

Ravichandran Ashwin

Team India have announced their 15-man squad for the World Test Championship Final (2021-2023) against Australia. Ajinkya Rahane makes his return to the Indian Test squad with Shreyas Iyer being ruled out due to an injury. Rohit Sharma will lead the team in their 2nd consecutive WTC final. The Oval, London will host the fixture from the 7th to the 11th of June with 12 June being the reserve day.

India’s squad:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, K L Rahul, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat.

India will be missing three key players Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer for this encounter. All three are nursing their injuries and shall not be fit for the fixture. India featured in the maiden WTC final which was against New Zealand at Southampton. New Zealand beat India by 8 wickets. Rohit Sharma’s men will be hoping for a reversal of result against Pat Cummins’ Australia this time.

Click here for Australia’s WTC Final squad