Reports: BCCI Treasurer Arun Dhumal set to replace Brijesh Patel as next IPL chairman

Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) Treasurer Arun Dhumal has been linked with taking up the position of IPL Chairman as per recent report. Vice President Rajeev Shukla had his aspirations clear of becoming the next Chairman once former Chairman, Brijesh Patel was set to vacate as he turns 70 in November this year. However, much to the surprise of many Dhumal’s name tipped Shukla for the position while the latter continues to be the vice president.

Dhumal was nominated by the Himachal Cricket Association to represent his state in the upcoming BCCI AGM meeting while other notable nominations were Anirudh Chaudhary who was a former BCCI Treasurer. The vacant position for treasurer after Dhumal’s nomination for Treasurer post is likely to be filled by Ashish Shelar who filed nomination for the post of President on Monday. After a lot of dilemma initially of staying in the Mumbai Cricket Association, according to Cricbuzz, Shelar has finally landed into the BCCI setup which did come as a surprise.

Jayesh George of Kerala is also no longer a part of BCCI position and Assam Cricket Association’s Devajit Saikia is set to take over as the new joint secretary. The much talked about President position in BCCI is set to taken over by former Indian cricketer Roger Binny while Jay Shah continues to be the Secretary despite Sourav Ganguly’s departure.

Roger Binny was part of the 1983 World Cup winning squad and he also was roped in as the national selector during the time of the 2015 World Cup. Binny has been a big name in the Karnataka Cricket Association for years and he is expected to become the next President hands down.

Here are the new expected post-holders in BCCI:

President- Roger Binny
Secretary- Jay Shah
Vice-president- Rajiv Shukla
Treasurer- Ashish Shelar
Joint secretary- Devajit Saikia
IPL chairman- Arun Dhumal

The nominations for the post of president, secretary, vice-president, joint-secretary and treasurer are active from October 11 to 12 while they can withdraw from the elections within October 14.