Six cricketers with the most Player of the series awards in Test cricket

Any player who comes up with an impactful performance in a match is awarded the player of the match title. If a cricketer does the same in the whole series, he gets awarded as well. Though cricket is a team game, sometimes few cricketers overshadow the performance of others with their brilliance. In this article, we are going to list out 6 players who have won the player of the series award for the most times in Test cricket.

6. Shane Warne – 8 Times


The former Australian leg spinner has won the player of the series award 8 times in his Test career. He took a total of 708 wickets in the longest format of the game which is second-most by any player in the format. His consistent performance helped the Aussie team to dominate other teams in their prime.

5. Sir Richard Hadlee – 8 Times

Richard Hadlee is considered among the greatest cricketers of New Zealand cricket. He took 431 wickets in 86 Tests, the most by any Kiwi pacer. Hadlee won 8 player of the series awards in his Test career which is again a record for New Zealand in the 5-day format.

4. Ravichandran Ashwin – 8 Times

Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin recently won the player of the series award against England. This was the 8th time he won it, and he is leading the chart among Indians. He took 32 wickets in the series, and also slammed a century in the crucial second Test held in Chennai. Ashwin has taken 409 wickets in the Test format and became the second-fastest to 400 wickets after Muttiah Muralitharan in the third Test against the English side.

3. Imran Khan – 8 Times

Former Pakistan captain Imran Khan played for his country from 1971 to 1992 and took 362 wickets in the Test format in 88 games. He also scored 3807 runs at an average of 37.69. Imran Khan won a total of 8 player of the series awards in his Test career.

2. Jacques Kallis – 9 Times


Jacques Kallis is considered among the greatest all-rounders to have ever played the game. He scored 13289 runs in the Test format at an average of 55.37, and also took 292 wickets. Kallis won the series awards 9 times during his Test career and is at the second spot in the record list.

1. Muttiah Muralitharan – 11 Times

Muttiah Muralitharan

Sri Lanka’s legendary spinner Muttiah Muralitharan holds the record for winning most player of the series awards in the Test format. He was awarded the title 11 times in his career. Muralitharan has almost all the major bowling records to his name. These include most wickets in Test cricket and across all three formats.