T20 World Cup 2021: List of commentators for the tournament

The International Cricket Council has named a star-studded list of commentators for the 2021 edition of the T20 World Cup in Oman and United Arab Emirates. The warm-ups have already got underway with the Qualifying group games to start on Sunday, October 17. The Super 12s start on Saturday, October 23 with a doubleheader in Dubai and Abu Dhabi.

The mega event was scheduled to take place in India, but had to shifted due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The UAE recently hosted the second leg of IPL 2021, which had to be moved out of India. As far as commentators are concerned, West Indies Daren Sammy features in the list. Sammy had won the 2016 T20 World Cup while leading the Caribbean team.

Dale Steyn, who retired from all forms of cricket a couple of months ago, will also be there in commentary. Ian Bishop has plied his trade in tournaments like the 2019 World Cup and he has loads of experience with the microphone in hand. Other veterans in the list are Sunil Gavaskar, Nasser Hussain, Russel Arnold, Michael Atherton and Harsha Bhogle.

Some big names in there

Athar Ali Khan is the only representative from Bangladesh. Former Scotland cricketer Preston Mommsen will also be there in the commentary box. Sunil Gavaskar, Murali Kartik, Bhogle and Anjum Chopra form the Indian contingent.

Chopra is also one of the two female commentators for the tournament along with Natalie Germanos. Chopra also has the experience of commentating in a number of tournaments in Bangladesh.

Bazid Khan and Alan Wilkins have also weaved magic in various ICC events. Shane Watson, who retired from international cricket in 2016, will also be seen.

Former Zimbabwe cricketer Pommie Mbangwa, who was a part of the IPL 2021 commentary panel, has also been roped in. Mark Nicholas is another popular name from the commentary world.

Here is the list of commentators for the T20 World Cup 2021

Ian Bishop, Shane Watson, Dale Steyn, Sunil Gavaskar, Daren Sammy, Nasser Hussain, Anjum Chopra, Danny Morrison, Russel Arnold, Mark Nicholas, Niall O’Brien, Harsha Bhogle, Michael Atherton, Natalie Germanos, Simon Doull, Murali Kartik, Bazid Khan, Alan Wilkins, Athar Ali Khan, Preston Mommsen, Pommie Mbangwa