T20 World Cup: List of winners from 2007 to 2022

England won the eighth edition of the T20 World Cup with a deserving five-wicket win over Pakistan at Melbourne Cricket Ground on Sunday (November 13). Pakistan managed to score only 137/8 after being asked to bat first. But they put in impressive fightback with impressive bowling spells while defending the total but England’s star all-rounder Ben Stokes smashed his first-ever T20I half-century to earn his team the biggest prize while six balls remaining.

This was England’s second T20 World Cup title after lifting the trophy in 2010 in West Indies. England also became the only second team after West Indies to win the T20 World on two occasions. The Jos Buttler-led team are now the first team to hold both T20 and one-day World Cup titles, as they were the champions of the 2019 one-day World Cup tournament.

For Pakistan, it was a heart-breaking defeat after losing the 2022 Asia Trophy to Sri Lanka in September. The Men in Green were hoping to repeat their heroics from the 1992 One Day World Cup by beating England in the final at Melbourne Cricket Ground, however, the latter ended their dreams.

India, winners of the first edition in 2007, were knocked out by Englanf in the second semi-final. The tournament hosts and 2021 winners Australia failed to reach the semi-final round despite having seven points from the Super 12 stage. Sri Lanka, who appeared in tournament finals on a record three occasions, also failed to reach the semi-final round.

T20 World Cup Winner List

YearWinnerWon byRunner-upHost
2007India5 runsPakistanSouth Africa
2009Pakistan8 wicketsSri LankaEngland
2010England7 wicketsAustraliaWest Indies
2012West Indies36 runsSri LankaSri Lanka
2014Sri Lanka6 wicketsIndiaBangladesh
2016West Indies4 wicketsEnglandIndia
2021Australia8 wicketsNew ZealandOman & UAE
2022England5 wicketsPakistanAustralia