U19 WC 2022: IND vs AUS Preview – India one step away from 4th straight final

The second semi-final of the ICC U19 World Cup 2022 is all set to see India take on Australia. Over the years, a clash between these two teams has always generated a lot of buzz. As far as the U19 WC goes, India managed to beat the Aussies both times, during the 2018 edition, as well as the 2020 edition.

While the team in blue beat Australia U19 in the final of the 2018 edition, India U19 had knocked the men in yellow out of the 2020 edition in the quarter-final. Thus, the Connolly-led side would want to settle the scores and beat the Asian side this time around. Besides, they did win the quarter-final rather comfortably.

The Aussies beat Pakistan U19 by 119 runs and thus, would be entering the semi-final with a lot of confidence. However, having said that, they would be hopeful that their spinner Nivethan Radhakrishnan would be available for this game. Moreover, there were a few COVID-19 cases on their side as well.

As for India U19, they will have their entire squad available for this fixture. A few of their regular players who had earlier tested positive for COVID-19 have recovered. Thus, this game promises to be an absolute cracker of a contest.

Match Details:

India U19 vs Australia U19

Date: February 2 2022

Time: 6:30 PM IST

Venue: Coolidge Cricket Ground, Antigua

Where to watch: Star Sports Network

Playing Combination:

India U19:

After their comprehensive win over Bangladesh, India wouldn’t want to make changes to a winning side. However, Nishant Sandhu continues to be unavailable after testing positive for COVID-19.

Predicted XI: Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Harnoor Singh, SK Rasheed, Siddarth Yadav, Yash Dhull (C), Raj Bawa, Aaradhya Yadav (wk), Kaushal Tambe, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Vicky Ostwal, Ravi Kumar

Australia U19:

Australia wouldn’t want to make too many changes to a XI that has worked so well for them. However, due to the deadly virus, a few of their players might not be available for this fixture.

Predicted XI: Teague Wyllie, Campbell Kellaway, Corey Miller, Cooper Connolly (C), Lachlan Shaw, Aidan Cahill, Tobias Snell (wk), William Salzmann, Jack Nisbet, Tom Whitney, Jack Sinfield