Women’s T20 World Cup 2023: ICC announces schedule

The top 10 teams in the world will begin their bid for the ultimate prize in T20 cricket when South Africa take on Sri Lanka in the opening match of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup at Newlands on 10 February, as the match schedule for the biggest ever women’s sporting event in Africa was announced.

Fans can now buy tickets for the 23 matches that will be played across Cape Town, Paarl and Gqeberha in 15 days. The world’s best cricketers will take centre stage for a uniquely African celebration of cricket culminating in a Finals weekend at Newlands Cricket Ground with the winner being crowned on Sunday, 26 February.

Bangladesh and Ireland complete the list of participating teams, joining Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies in the eighth edition of the Women’s T20 World Cup, which will be a spectacular celebration for everyone to be a part of.

I can’t wait to watch, says Mithali Raj

Former India captain Mithali Raj, who is an ICC Ambassador, said she was really excited about the tournament being held in South Africa.

“The announcement of the schedule takes us one step closer to the Women’s T20 World Cup. This has been a fantastic period for the growth of the women’s game, and I am sure fans in South Africa will be out in huge numbers to support the players.

Here’s the schedule:

10 February        South Africa v Sri Lanka                  Cape Town

11 February        West Indies v England                    Paarl

11 February        Australia v New Zealand                  Paarl

12 February        India v Pakistan                             Cape Town

12 February        Bangladesh v Sri Lanka                  Cape Town

13 February        Ireland v England                            Paarl

13 February        South Africa v New Zealand              Paarl

14 February        Australia v Bangladesh                   Gqeberha

15 February        West Indies v India                       Cape Town

15 February        Pakistan v Ireland                         Cape Town

16 February        Sri Lanka v Australia                      Gqeberha

17 February        New Zealand v Bangladesh            Cape Town

17 February        West Indies v Ireland                    Cape Town

18 February        England v India                             Gqeberha

18 February        South Africa v Australia                  Gqeberha

19 February        Pakistan v West Indies                    Paarl

19 February        New Zealand v Sri Lanka                 Paarl

20 February        Ireland v India                              Gqeberha

21 February        England v Pakistan                      Cape Town

21 February        South Africa v Bangladesh            Cape Town

23 February        SEMI-FINAL 1                             Cape Town

24 February        RESERVE DAY                             Cape Town

24 February        SEMI-FINAL 2                             Cape Town

25 February        RESERVE DAY                             Cape Town

26 February        FINAL                                        Cape Town

27 February        RESERVE DAY                             Cape Town