IPL 2022: SRH vs RCB Preview – Mid-table teams try their best

The Sunrisers Hyderabad will be locking horns with the Royal Challengers Bangalore in Match 54 of IPL 2022 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on May 8. Both teams will be heading into this fixture on the back of contrasting results. While RCB got the better of the defending champions Chennai Super Kings by 13 runs in the last game, SRH went down to the Delhi Capitals by 21 runs.

Hyderabad, who were one of the consistent performers not too long ago, have suddenly slipped down to the sixth position in the points table with three consecutive defeats. The top-order failed during a mammoth chase against DC and had it not been for Aiden Markram and Nicholas Pooran, the margin of defeat would have been a humiliating one for the Orange Army. Meanwhile, the bowling has also lacked firepower since the last couple of games as a result of which the opposition teams have been able to post scores in excess of 200, which eventually cost SRH some precious points.

Bangalore, on the other hand, finally got back to winning ways having suffered three back-to-back defeats in one week. While the top-order was dismissed cheaply, the middle-order trio of Rajat Patidar, Mahipal Lomror and Dinesh Karthik played some handy knocks, which helped them in posting a score over 170. The bowlers then did the job as they kept their nerves and contained CSK’s famed batting line-up.

Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Predicted XI

Sunrisers Hyderabad

The Sunrisers Hyderabad would not be keen on making any changes and would rather give the same XI another chance to prove themselves in the southern derby. At the same time, SRH would also be confident of their reverse fixture clash where they had dismissed Bangalore cheaply for just 68.

Abhishek Sharma, Kane Williamson (c), Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Shashank Singh, Sean Abbot, Shreyas Gopal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kartik Tyagi, Umran Malik

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Having registered a hard-fought win against the Chennai Super Kings, it is a no-brainer that the Royal Challengers Bangalore will not be making any changes in their line-up.

Faf du Plessis (c), Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Glenn Maxwell, Shahbaz Ahmed, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Mahipal Lomror, Wanindu Hasaranga, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Josh Hazlewood