New Zealand name 16-member squad for Sri Lanka ODIs

Following a sensational last-ball victory against Sri Lanka in the opening Test match of the series, New Zealand have announced their squad for the ODI series later this month. Tom Latham will be leading the side in the 50-over format in the absence of key senior players like Kane Williamson, Tim Southee, Devon Conway and Mitchell Santner, who will be representing their respective franchises in IPL 2023.

While several familiar faces make their return to the ODI setup, two newcomers, Chad Bowes and Ben Lister have been named in the squad for the white-ball series. While Lister made his T20I debut in India a few weeks ago, Bowes has been drafted into the squad after a string of impressive performances for Canterbury.

“It’s always exciting as a coach to have new players in the environment and to have players putting their hands up to be selected again in a particular format. Chad has been impressive for a number of seasons at the top of the order for Canterbury as well as being an excellent fielder. We are set to play 16 white-ball matches between now and the start of May so there will be a number of chances for players to test themselves in familiar and unfamiliar conditions,” Gary Stead, New Zealand’s head coach, said.

Tom Blundell makes much-anticipated return to the ODI squad

Meanwhile, wicketkeeper-batter Tom Blundell, who has established himself as one of the integral parts of the red-ball side, makes his much-awaited return to the ODI setup after a hiatus of one and a half years. New Zealand head coach praised the 32-year-old’s exploits in the longest format of the game and expects great things from the steady batter in a busy white-ball calendar.

“Tom Blundell, in particular, is someone who we’ve been hugely impressed by in international cricket over the past 18 months as a leader in the Test team and then domestically with the Wellington Firebirds. It’s an exciting opportunity for Tom ahead of a big year of white-ball cricket,” Stead said.

ODI Squad – Tom Latham (capt), Finn Allen, Tom Blundell, Chad Bowes, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Ben Lister, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Will Young