Border-Gavaskar Trophy extended to five Test matches

In a move that celebrates the enduring legacy of Test cricket, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and Cricket Australia (CA) have jointly announced that the iconic Border-Gavaskar Trophy will be extended to five Tests when India tour Australia next summer.

This marks the first time in over three decades that these two cricketing giants will face off in a five-match Test series. The last time these two teams played a five-match Test series was in the 1991-92 season when Australia won 4-0 on home soil.

The extended Border-Gavaskar Trophy series promises to be the highlight of the 2024-25 Australian summer calendar. The BCCI Secretary Jay Shah emphasized the board’s commitment to preserving the rich heritage of Test cricket, a format they hold in high regard.

“Our continuous partnership with Cricket Australia to expand the Border-Gavaskar Trophy to five Tests demonstrates our shared commitment to developing and enhancing Test cricket’s importance,” he said in a statement.

“This extension reflects our common objective of amplifying the essence of Test cricket and preserving its legacy. As India and Australia join forces, we expect a spectacular spectacle that will grab fans worldwide with its energy and excitement,” he added.

We appreciate the work with the BCCI: Cricket Australia Chair

Likewise, CA Chair Mike Baird backed the world-champion Australian squad led by Pat Cummins to overcome the quality and depth of the Indian team, which has won the last two Border-Gavaskar trophies in Australia. “We are very thrilled that the Border-Gavaskar Trophy has been extended to five Tests, considering the tremendous rivalry between our two great cricketing nations and the excitement this generates,” he said.

“We appreciate the work with the BCCI, and I agree with Mr Shah about the importance of Test cricket. We look forward to hosting their squad, officials, and supporters for what promises to be a fantastic series and a highlight of a busy summer of cricket,” he added.

As mentioned above, India have had dominating performances on their recent tours Down Under, having won the 2018-2019 and 2020-2021 Border Gavaskar trophies. The 2018-19 victory made India the first Asian team to win a Test series in Australia. The extended schedule of the Test series will be officially announced in a few days. There are reports the series might be held in November and Perth will host the first Test.