Cricket Australia releases 2024/25 home summer schedule

As the cricketing world gears up for an action-packed summer, Australia have announced their home summer schedule, promising a thrilling season of cricketing matches. From the highly anticipated Border-Gavaskar Trophy to the Women’s Ashes, cricket enthusiasts are in for a treat with an array of white-ball contests and Test matches lined up.

Kicking off the cricketing extravaganza, Pakistan is set to visit Australia for a series of six white-ball clashes, including three ODIs and three T20Is. The showdown will commence in November, setting the stage for an exhilarating start to the home summer.

However, the highlight of the season undoubtedly lies in the Test series against India. Commencing on November 22 in Perth, the series will witness five intense matches, with further Tests scheduled in Adelaide, Brisbane, Melbourne, and Sydney, extending the thrill right up to the New Year.

Nick Hockley, CEO of Cricket Australia, expressed great enthusiasm for the upcoming series, emphasizing the importance of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy and the Women’s Ashes, calling it one of the most eagerly awaited cricket seasons in recent memory.

“This is one of the most highly anticipated summers of cricket in memory with the eyes of the cricket world focused on the extended Border-Gavaskar Trophy series and the multi-format Women’s Ashes,” Hockley said as quoted by ICC Cricket.

“Fittingly, the Border-Gavaskar Trophy has been put on the same footing as The Ashes with a five Test Series for the first time since 1991-92 and we’re confident the schedule will maximise viewership and attendances and there will be a tremendous atmosphere in stadiums across the country,” he added.

The series against India holds special significance as it marks the first time since 1991/92 that the two cricketing giants will engage in a five-match Test series. This extended series format will not only captivate fans but also play a crucial role in shaping the teams’ journey towards the ICC World Test Championship final.

While Australia clinched victory in the recent World Test Championship final, India has been a formidable opponent, holding the Border-Gavaskar trophy since 2017. With both teams evenly matched, cricket aficionados can anticipate a fiercely contested battle on the field.

Australia v Pakistan white-ball schedule:

First ODI: November 4, Melbourne
Second ODI: November 8, Adelaide
Third ODI: November 10, Perth
First T20I: November 14, Brisbane
Second T20I: November 16, Sydney
Third T20I: November 18, Hobart

Australia v India Test schedule:

First Test: November 22-26, Perth
Second Test: December 6-10, Adelaide (D/N)
Third Test: December 14-18, Brisbane
Fourth Test: December 26-30, Melbourne
Fifth Test: January 3-7, Sydney