CSK vs GT Preview: Chennai, Gujarat determined to continue their winning momentum

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are going to host Gujarat Titans (GT) at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Tuesday, March 26 in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024.

Chennai, under new captain Ruturaj Gaikwad, won their first game against RCB in the first match of the season. Mustafizur Rahman bagged a four-for as Faf du Plessis and Co. only managed 173/6 after opting to bat first. Rachin Ravindra took the attack to the Bengaluru bowlers and amassed 37 runs off 15 balls. In the end, a fifth-wicket partnership of 66 runs between Shivam Dube and Ravindra Jadeja took the five-time champions to victory with eight balls to spare.

Meanwhile, Gujarat Titans faced Mumbai Indians in their first match. Shubman Gill started his captaincy career in the IPL with a win. Gujarat Titans defeated Hardik Pandya’s men by six runs in a thrilling clash in Ahmedabad. After being invited to bat first, the hosts managed 168/6 in their 20 overs. Shubman Gill (31 off 22 balls) and Sai Sudharsan (45 off 39 balls) played handy knocks on a tricky wicket. Rahul Tewatia played a nice cameo in the end as the Titans finished on 168/6 in their 20 overs. The Gujarat bowlers bowled well as a unit and eventually won the match by six runs.

These two teams played in the finals last year and the Men in Yellow won off the last ball. They have started their IPL 2024 campaigns with wins and would want to keep the momentum going. It promises to be an intriguing match and cricket enthusiasts wouldn’t want to miss it.

Head to Head

Pitch Report

The MA Chidambaram Stadium is known for favouring the spinners. Both teams have some very good spin-bowling options in their lineups. Also, the powerplay overs are going to be crucial for both teams. Opting to bowl first and restricting the opposition to a total below 160 should be the target as batting in the second innings could become more challenging,

Probable Playing XI

Chennai Super Kings: Ruturaj Gaikwad (C), Rachin Ravindra, Ajinkya Rahane, Daryl Mitchell, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (WK), Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Maheesh Theekshana, Tushar Deshpande

Gujarat Titans: Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Shubman Gill (C), Sai Sudharsan, Azmatullah Omarzai, David Miller, Vijay Shankar, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Umesh Yadav, Sai Kishore, Spencer Johnson